Thursday, September 4, 2008

AASL Standards for the 21st Century Learner

From the AASL document:

Common Beliefs

The learning standards begin by defining nine foundational common beliefs:

  1. Reading is a window to the world.
  2. Inquiry provides a framework for learning.
  3. Ethical behavior in the use of information must be taught.
  4. Technology skills are crucial for future employment needs.
  5. Equitable access is a key component for education.
  6. The definition of information literacy has become more complex as resources and technologies have changed.
  7. The continuing expansion of information demands that all individuals acquire the thinking skills that will enable them to learn on their own.
  8. Learning has a social context.
  9. School libraries are essential to the development of learning skills.

The Standards

The Standards describe how learners use skills, resources, and tools to

  • inquire, think critically, and gain knowledge;
  • draw conclusions, make informed decisions, apply knowledge to new situations, and create new knowledge;
  • share knowledge and participate ethically and productively as members of our democratic society;
  • pursue personal and aesthetic growth.
 Read more on the AASL site here.

Read a low-res .pdf of the document here. (The site link above also has a high-res .pdf link on it).

Image source.  Link from NSW DET School Libraries and Information Literacy Hot Topics.

No comments: